Snell Type C/i - picked up a pair for free

Guest Maxamillion

Guest Maxamillion

Hi guys, I'm new here. I recently picked up a pair of Snell Type C/i speakers for free from Freecycle. They were too large for the folks, so they gave them away. The woofers need re-foaming (already have the proper foams on order), and one of the woofers needs the magnet glued back on (but voicecoil is intact with DC resistance of ~6 ohms). See attached picture.

I'm planning to clean up and refinish the cabinets and obviously re-attach the magnet and refoam. Any tips/tricks you guys know of for these speakers? Anyone ever rebuild the crossovers for these (if so what worked well and what didn't?).

I have some experience rebuilding speakers (I must have 25 different pairs scattered around the house) so I'm not a novice, but I could always use suggestions from the experts.

post-104162-1240237362.jpg

post-104162-1240237380.jpg

Guest Maxamillion
Hi guys, I'm new here. I recently picked up a pair of Snell Type C/i speakers for free from Freecycle. They were too large for the folks, so they gave them away. The woofers need re-foaming (already have the proper foams on order), and one of the woofers needs the magnet glued back on (but voicecoil is intact with DC resistance of ~6 ohms). See attached picture.

I'm planning to clean up and refinish the cabinets and obviously re-attach the magnet and refoam. Any tips/tricks you guys know of for these speakers? Anyone ever rebuild the crossovers for these (if so what worked well and what didn't?).

I have some experience rebuilding speakers (I must have 25 different pairs scattered around the house) so I'm not a novice, but I could always use suggestions from the experts.

Well, the woofer with the loose magnet is fixed. A little gel Super Glue and it plays beautiful music. Next comes the re-foaming.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Maxamillion