Allison Fours Purchase and Refoam

Guest lee_petri

Guest lee_petri

Hello Discussion Group!

I have an opportunity to purchase a pair of Allison Fours for $120. I saw them at an estate sale and they appear to be in excellent condition. I've read that I can expect to have to refoam the woofers (if my memory serves)? Is that expensive or difficult to do myself? Anything else I should look at, specifically? Should I consider this an excellent opportunity and buy them before someone else does?

I'm new to this vintage high end speaker thing, ovbiously....

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Lee

Hello Discussion Group!

I have an opportunity to purchase a pair of Allison Fours for $120. I saw them at an estate sale and they appear to be in excellent condition. I've read that I can expect to have to refoam the woofers (if my memory serves)? Is that expensive or difficult to do myself? Anything else I should look at, specifically? Should I consider this an excellent opportunity and buy them before someone else does?

I'm new to this vintage high end speaker thing, ovbiously....

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Lee

Welcome Lee!

NO! Don't buy them. Tell me where they are and I will take them off the seller's hands!

Seriously--the Fours are terrific speakers. I had a pair that I bought new, also a pair I bought used for $200. Both sets needed to be refoamed of course so I used the excellent kits sold by M Sound. Kits are about $25 a pair with everything you need included. Have a look at his web site here for step-by-step instructions:

http://www.citlink.net/~msound/

Is it difficult? Depends on how handy you are and how skillful. Did you build plastic models as a kid? Did they come out well? If so you have enough skill to refoam the woofers. If not, there are services that will do the job for you.

btw--I sold those Fours on ebay for $400 to $500 a pair. Kinda miss them.

Good luck

Kent

Guest lee_petri