A dumb question about the ritual of recapping a vintage receiver/amplifier

OK, I understand recapping speakers and have done a number of them now successfully. But I also read about the necessary/obligatory recapping of older receivers/amplifiers.

Question: do you mean replacing every cap in the unit? Good grief. I look at a receiver and there are dozens of them, large to tiny. Or do you just mean the large ones in the power supply or tuner or pre-amp or...... which ones are generally meant?

Hey red

I'm no expert in this area but here's my understanding: Yes. Replace them all. Yes, it's a royal PITA.

My thinking is, electrolytics go bad eventually (20 years? 30? 40?). I recapped my Mac4100 based on this thread: http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=176380&highlight=4100+recap (in fact I pretty much hijacked the thread) and also my Advent 300 based on Pete's thread here: http://www.classicspeakerpages.net/IP.Board/index.php?showtopic=2778

Also, in my booklet on restoring the KLH Model Eight, I describe replacing electrolytics: http://www.classicspeakerpages.net/IP.Board/index.php?showtopic=6387

As I understand it:

• Only replace electrolytics
  • Use good quality (but not crazy expensive) caps. Nichicon and Panasonic are good. Nichicon makes different caps for different applications (I'll see if I can find a link)
  • For smaller values (maybe 2uF and under) you can usually substitute film caps
  • If you can't find the exact value, +/- 10% is fine
  • I try to use the next step up in voltage rating, but never go lower.

If you don't want to do all that you can always test a few of the caps and see if they are still good. But if you are talking about an amp from the 50s or 60s I think I'd ditch ALL the old 'lytics.

YMMV ;)

Kent

Here's the nichicon table: http://www.nichicon.co.jp/english/products/alm_mini/default.htm