AR LST speakers

Guest cbumdumb

Guest cbumdumb

I am new here so please excuse this post if topic was covered before but I just bought two AR LST speakers from a flea market seem intact one woofer needs new foam but or complete the pots are frozen but other than that seem in good condition . I was thinking about refoaming them or trying to find proper replacement parts I am new to this and am looking for any suggestions on what I should do . My plans when i first got them was to modernize them but after reading up on them I think they should be kept original cabinents or in very good shape and speaker grilles in great shape except one frame is cracked but cloth undamaged , any suggestions would we of great help.

• Replies 94
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi cdumbumb

You should definitely refoam your woofers, you will have a hard time to find a replacement speaker of the same quality and fit for any of the drivers in an AR-LST. The "potmeter" is a 6 position switch, so it might not be stuck at all, nmaybe you just have to try to turn a little harder. Properly restored, it is a speaker like almost no other speaker in this world, but they need to be positioned close up against a wall with some distance to the floor, in order to give a proper respons in the low register.

Good luck with the restoration, it is worth every minute it lasts.

Klaus

1-17-07

Here’s my 4 cents, I own AR-3as’, AR-2ax’s and AR-LST’s.

The 3a’s are wonderful and still my most comfortable speaker to my ears, I find the 2ax’s are a little mid- top-end shy, while at the same time they can be slightly ‘boomy’ if the amp bass controls are not used judiciously.

The AR-LST strongly carries the AR signature sound over-all, but offers at times, an over abundance of mid-range information, which is great for female voices, bass being the same as the 3a’s- the best in the world.

There I did it, I said it, I spoke of the main AR speaker line in five sentences or less.

Frank Marsi, your friend.