CHARTWELL PM-55 help needed!

Hi all,

I recently added a lovely pair of CHARTWELL PM-55 to my collection! I am really impressed by the awesome sound they already produce. Since these are vintage speakers I want to recap them and enjoying them with their full capacity again. Before I am going to open them up , I wanted to know if there is someone who can tell me which caps have been used in the crossover section of this speaker. I am fairly new to recapping old speakers, and it helps to know which caps I need to hunt down before opening the speaker and find out similair caps are not available anymore.
I hope you guys will help a fellow vintage speaker "addict" and point me in th right direction.

Thanx in advance.

Well, you're getting closer. The Chartwells aren't from New England either--they're from OLD England :D

I have no experience with these and a quick google search did not turn up any schematics but if you have had some, even limited experience opening up a speaker and poking around inside I would not worry. It sounds like you've already recapped the B&Os so you're familiar with the drill. In all probability the capacitors will be marked and there is virtually no chance that caps of the appropriate values are not available. Worst case scenario: In Rectilinear speakers the capacitors are not labeled with their values. In the unlikely case that the Chartwells are the same, you could get a cheap LCR meter and measure the capacitance or send the caps to a helpful CSP member to measure them for you. But I'll bet they are marked.

I did find one photo of a Chartwell (not a PM55) xo http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/214838-chartwell-pm110-speakers-crossover-help.html It has those unreliable black and red PVC caps so they really should be replaced.

Let us know how you make out.

Kent

Hi Kent,