Ar-2ax thrift find

scoville

Ok,I'm in,been watching, learning for a while. Thanks Carlspeak! I'm getting hooked on these AR's. I have 10 pi, in main syst. $40 garage sale my first. Re-foamed. WOW! McCormack Mod Squad Spacial Coherance Pre. Technics 1300, Sony S900ES DVD/CD, Ashley Pro amp.Becoming a very special system. Office, AR-5's, Kenwood KA-7100, JVC Tuner. Denon TT, Sony NC555ES DVD/CD. Not to shabby at all. Master I'm picking up Sansui G-7800 this weekend,have Wharfdale Rosedales now, looking to add the refurbed (2)'s soon.

These are really rough.$5.nuff said.I'm a pro carpenter,so I'm very confident about the cabinets. I'll be reveneering with old stock Mahogany I have in Garage.

My main issues lie with the rusty tweets. While pulling the grills, the first one launched. They are rusted thoroughly, causing the release of the four adhesive spots to fail. The second tweet, two of the 4 adhesive spots have failed. Wires are still intact. Are these salvageable? Can I CLR the tweet, perhaps add new type of adhesive spots and make a save? Couple on the bay now, but they won't last long and as usual I have a large stack of bills pending!!!

Sorry for the lousy pics, I spend my money on audio, not cameras!

post-175933-0-44705500-1437612297_thumb.

post-175933-0-25970400-1437612311_thumb.

post-175933-0-02323800-1437612325_thumb.

post-175933-0-60621900-1437612339_thumb.

post-175933-0-76802900-1437612354_thumb.

post-175933-0-74823700-1437612368_thumb.

Welcome Scoville!

Sounds like you have some nice systems there.

As for the 2ax tweets, I'd say they're toast. And I'd be concerned about all that rust--what else is damaged?

Of course for $5 they're still a steal and you have the skills to fix up the cabinets.

Be sure to check the pots.

I think you'll need replacement 2ax tweets from the auction site. I don't know if the Hi-Vi tweets we use in the 3a would work with xo mods. Maybe Roy or some other member can advise on that.