Reversing polarity in crossovers, JBL 4311 and others

How the 4311 fits in to this comes a little later in the story.

I have a question about crossovers and driver polarity. I’m no engineer, just curious.

A friend gave me a pair of Technics SB-L50 speakers. Maybe not classic, but old. They were called a “linear phase speaker system.” The three drivers are all mounted on the same plane; i.e., the voice coils are not aligned like some “linear phase” speakers did, so I don’t know what “linear phase” means with respect to this speaker.

I happened to disconnect the LF drivers while playing around and did not mark the wires, mea culpa. I didn’t know how to re-connect them, so I took all the drivers and wiring out (making pictures) to see if I could make an educated guess.

The crossover circuit is one 4.7 mfd cap and one inductor whose value I can’t determine. The terminal marked (+) is wired through the cap to the (–) terminals on both the mid and HF drivers, which are effectively paralleled. So, these two drivers seem to be getting the same signal. There is also a wire from the (+) terminal that goes through the inductor to the LF driver – but to which terminal there, the (+) or the (–)? Trying to keep things alike, I connected this wire to the (–) post on the LF driver. The sound was OK but kind of muddy. Then, I saw some crossover designs where the polarity of the mid and HF drivers are opposite that of the LF driver. So, I reversed the polarity on the LF drivers. The midrange seemed to pop out a bit more on listening. I plan to leave them like this, after replacing the caps.

I was wondering if any of you can say if it makes sense ever to reverse polarity on the mid and HF drivers from that of the LF driver in a crossover circuit.