need help w/ AR5 crossover

Rogerfederer

hello classic speaker gurus!

this is my 1st post, though i've been a member for a while. i am taking a look at my AR 5 crossovers to see if they need updating. i did some research and found carl's schematic (attached), another schematic (looked the same), and some pictures.

so i was surprised when i opened up the box and found this: http://albums.phanfare.com/isolated/Dk50KRQL/1/6272416

i expected 3 capacitors: 4uF, 24 uF and 72 uF. instead i only found one object i immediately recognized as a capacitor (i am a novice at this). it is the 4uF cap. so where are the 24 and 72 uF caps? there is a boxlike object with several wires running into it that seems to be sealed with wax? are there capacitors in there?

i bought them from an engineer who said he had restored them but i don't think he remembered the details. maybe i can try to contact them.

anyways, would love any advice!

AR5_schematic.pdf

The large wax block is indeed 2 capacitors ( 24 and 72 uf) on a single chassis. The wire-wrapped block is providing the resistance as per the original crossover design so all of the parts are there as per Carl's schematic. Not sure how this was ever restored as the parts all appear original (old) but regardless, if you follow Carl's schematic you could update the caps with newer individual caps and maybe replace the wire-wrapped block with an audio grade noninductive resistor for a simple upgrade.

If you follow the AR 3A restoration project on this Web Site youi can do a whole lot more to restore these classic speakers.

Good Luck ! ;)

Dean

hey that is great. just what i needed to know.

since i only have access to the 4uF cap maybe i should test it with my peak ESR meter and if it measures poorly i could assume the rest of the caps need to be replaced as well.

does that make sense? otherwise i can't really know if the caps in the box are good or not...