Researching these AR 1's

neonspike

post-116175-0-96144200-1315247626_thumb.Researching these AR-1's that I "inherited" back around '81-'82 from a family friend who had been a wealthy car dealer around the San Diego area. These have been in my crawlspace for about 6 years now. Have more pics, but thought I'd just post these for now...Mike

Hi there

Nice to see that they are only a few digits apart.

Getting ready to move, so I finally hooked these up today. I had forgotten how absolutely phenomenal these sound! Brought 'em up nice and slow to warm up, after a thorough inspection, with a flashlight through the grilles. They've never been opened up or the grilles off in any way. I could never see a way in without damaging, so I've left them intact. I'm no expert by any means, but judging from other photos, the cones look very good!! When I started to turn these up, if the amp goes to 100, I stopped at about 20 because my wife said it was plenty loud and the floor started to shake. Plenty left in these old things! Again, phenomenal!! Haven't been this excited in a while! Will post more photos later. In good shape for a +/- 50 year old set. Would like to find more info on finishes that these came in, as these are unfinished pine? with 'feet' (also pine) on the bottom. I've not seen any like 'em.

Thanks Dan! Any info would be appreciated. Mike