KLH Model 20 Plus

the_eaze

I recently picked up a Model 20 Plus. Its got an amazing look and I love it. I am a newbie to KLH and this unit specifically. I looked through every page of this forum looking for more info on this system. What I am looking for is a scanned pdf of the original owners manual or maybe one from just a model 20.

Another question I have is how hard are these to work on? Can I take this unit to any shop that works on stereos and expect them to be able to work on it? Or do I need to send this unit somewhere specific to get it serviced? It seems to have a low hum/crackle/buzz that is present with the FM and Phono playing. Nothing seems to get rid of it. At first I thought it was the speakers but even with them disconnected and headphones hooked up its still present. The balance also dosen't seem to work.

I read on here that there were 3500 of these produced. I was also wondering about the numbering of this system. Mine is numbered 004741.

klh20_1.jpg

klh20_2.jpg

klh20_3.jpg

klh20_4.jpg

klh20_5.jpg

Beautiful Twenty Plus! Good luck with it. According to a sales brochure, The Amazing Music Boxes of KLH, "The Model Twenty-Plus is a Model Twenty; the Plus is cosmetics, pure and simple".

Refreshing candor! :rolleyes: It sold for $525 back in the day, as compared to the plain ol' Twenty at 399.99 or the Model Tenty with AM at 439.95.

I have never seen a Twenty-Plus in the flesh, but I believe the cabinet for the electronics/turntable section is solid walnut. Not sure about that. Speakers are probably veneered and they are 4 ohms.

Another sales sheet described the Twenty's amp: