LST 2 Tweeters...all 6 bad??

twinbugles

Greetings all:

Newbie here to this site, and to AR speakers, but an old hand at collecting, enjoying, and restoring vintage hi fi.

Recently, I purchased a pair of LST 2's from the original owner. They appeared flawless, not a mark or scratch anywhere, grills still nice and clean, etc..in the original boxes! I removed the grills and found rotted foam surrounds on the woofers, no prob, easy fix. Hooking up the speakes revealed sound coming from all of the mids, but no sound at all from ANY of the 6 tweeters. Large fuses on the backs of the cabinets are intact.

What are the chances of all 6 tweeters being bad? I pulled them to check wiring, and all are connected. Checkingwith VOM and I get no response, so it appears they may be all open, unless I am doing something wrong here.

Any suggestions? If they are all bad, what will be the best replacement tweeter to use?

Thanks in advance here, I am enjoying reading the many posts and threads you all share here.

Cheers!

Bill H.

Welcome to CSP, Bill...

I have worked with another forum member who replaced all of his LST-2 tweeters with HiVi Q1R tweeters. We made a couple of easy crossover adjustments, and he seemed quite happy with the result. We added a small parallel coil to the tweeeter circuit, and reduced the tweeter cap from 12uf to 5uf.

Roy

Bill I ran into similar situation on my purchase of a second pair of AR-LST2 i did basically same thing replaced all my tweeters with the HIVI Q1R

i decided to reduce my tweeter capacitance down to 4 uf and added the .05 coil very pleased with the results so far attached is edited version of the LST2 schematic to show my modifications.

post-101032-0-51172000-1358710583_thumb.

BH,